Articles

Humphrey Lyttelton

In Uncategorized on May 4, 2008 by Miche

I subscribe to the ISIHAC mailing list, and on 18th April got the news that Humphrey Lyttelton was “detained in hospital for an operation to repair an aortic aneurysm.” Jon Naismith added:

Humph is otherwise fine and in very good spirits.  However, if you
wish to write him a get well message, send him an email to this
address with the subject ‘Get Well Humph’ and I’ll print it off for
him.  I imagine it’ll be nice for him to have something to read in his
hospital bed.

So, though I’m not given to fan letters, I sent one.

Greetings from Ireland. I have been listening to ISIHAC for over thirty years, and have never grown tired of it. I hope you return soon to give us more witterings from Mrs Trellis, illuminations of the complex concept that is “One song to the tune of another” and delightful slanders against Lionel Blair.

Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

I don’t suppose he ever read it, and I don’t suppose it’s different from the thousands of other messages that people sent. I’ll miss that dry wit. And where the hell am I supposed to get my fix of fellatio jokes at Sunday lunchtimes?

RIP.

Leave a Reply

