Articles

Helen Lewis

In Uncategorized on December 31, 2009 by Miche

Helen Lewis told me a story once. She had happened to meet the mother of a young girl who had gone to Helen’s dance classes, and was now taking lessons somewhere else. The mother said: “When she got home from your class, she would be dancing through the door. She danced around the house all the time. She doesn’t do that any more. I asked her why, and she said ‘Oh… I’m not good enough.'”

I don’t recall exactly where or when she told me that story, but I remember the curl of her lip when she said the words “I’m not good enough.” It was abundantly clear that Helen had a low opinion of any teacher whose pupils would leave a class with a low opinion of themselves. Her way of teaching was to inspire, to encourage. She made us think we could dance, and lo and behold we could dance – or at least we could dance a sight better than we would have done without her encouragement and instruction.

Helen was a survivor of Auschwitz. She saw and experienced things my imagination can’t cope with. Yet she retained a love of life, of people, and of dance.

Helen died on the last day of 2009. My resolution for 2010 is to dance more.

One Response to “Helen Lewis”

  1. Nice tribute.

Leave a Reply

